A pinch of Pink Himalayan Sea Salt

First of all, pink salt? Sorry? When I first read about Himalayan salt I really wanted to give it a try but, it did take me a while to locate as I was looking for white salt. Luckily I stumbled across this in my local super market and discovered that the pink colour is actually a sign of its energy rich iron and mineral content.

Now, I have done my research and found quite a few reasons I will be adding this into my diet

  • It helps to create an electrolyte balance
  • It can increase hydration
  • It regulates water content both inside and outside of cells
  • Balance pH (alkaline/acidity) and help to reduce acid reflux
  • It can help to prevent muscle cramping
  • It aids in proper metabolism functioning
  • Strengthen bones
  • Lower blood pressure
  • Help the intestines absorb nutrients
  • It can improve circulation. 

It is even said to reduce the signs of aging and detoxify the body from the heavy metals that we absorb through food and drink. 

So, what is the difference between this salt and my usual table salt?

 The usual salt that I usually buy is stripped of most of it’s minerals, accept for sodium and chloride. Since finding out that the pink salt is natural, I have discovered that my usual salt is white because it has been chemically cleaned, bleached and heated at high temperatures.

I say my “usual salt” in all honestly, I actually don’t use salt very much at all… or pepper. This may sound terrible I know, but I watch a lot of cookery programs which are forever criticizing people for lack of seasoning in their dishes. Since I wanted to get back into cooking but also not be conscious about the amount of salt in my diet, I found this. 

Apart from sprinkling it in my food, I have also researched ways that others are making use of this new wonder salt. 

Sole salt water. I have already claimed that I will be swapping my regular salt for this lovely pink salt when I’m cooking, but as this transition of actually adding the salt may take a while, I have read another useful way to make use of its benefits. Sole water is basically where you dissolve that much in water salt, that it cannot take anymore. I first read this and thought… I don’t have to drink this do I? Salt water… yum. No, you keep this water in a glass jar, dissolving the pink salt until it will not dissolve anymore (until you see little bits of salt at the bottom of the jar), then you take a tea spoon of this water and mix it in with a normal glass of water. This is a great way to get all of the benefits and in a drink in the morning, it will also give you a caffeine free boost to start your day!

Put it in the bath? Yes, weird. This shouldn’t have surprised me as I have used bath salts before, but I never considered putting actual rock salt in the bath! This will be another way to soak up the goodness from those minerals and if this means I have an excuse to stay in the bath longer, I will use it!

I am looking forward to posting my review of my new salt, but I would also love to hear whether you have tried this – what did you think?

Bye for now X

Leave a comment